Writing that moves readers to action

Have you ever thought about or asked yourself why, at times, you simply don’t understand or are unable to grasp or consistently repeat something you’ve read or learned?  Or, occasionally, does it seem or feel that it takes an eternity for you to learn or grasp a new piece of information?

For as long as I can remember, aspects of the learning process have presented incredible challenges – actually, no, the truth is there have been times when the learning process has been outright difficult.

A great, but simple, example raises its ugly head when I try to absorb, digest, and act upon verbal directions to a new location.  Despite a strong desire and commitment, I inevitably get lost.  Yet, if someone is in the car with me – either driving or as a passenger – I rarely get lost…plus, the directions somehow manage to stay in my memory.  A similar thing happens when I attempt to learn a new computer program (or anything new for that matter).  If I read the instructions, it is difficult for me to absorb, process, and act upon all of the details I’ve read; however, when someone stands beside me and shows me the steps and offers me hands-on instruction on how to do something, the process becomes permanently etched in my brain.multiple choice cartoon

While certain aspects of these learning processes seemed a bit challenging for me, I never paid too much attention to them – assuming that most learning is, by nature, designed to be a challenge.  Underneath it all, I knew I was a relatively intelligent individual.  Then, several years ago a friend and associate pointed out – in a very kind, non-condescending and non-judgmental way – that my learning technique or style was different from hers (boy, do I wish we could still candidly compare and share with each other as we did as children).  She led me to several resources which not only helped me better understand and appreciate my style…but, gave me greater insight (and an appreciation) into the learning style of others – especially those I work and interact with.  Below are a few of the tools…

Crafted, researched and written by:  LIZ CARLOCK
The Write Resources, LLC™
© 2014 EM Carlock

Graphics credits:  classroom-assessment-theory-into-practice.wikispaces.com and serc.carleton.edu

Leave a Reply

