Writing that moves readers to action

My notebook of inspirations is about three inches deep.  That notebook contains a lifetime’s worth of passages retrieved from books read and quotes encountered.  Each time I plant myself in my chair to begin my weekly blog, I reach for that notebook and wander down memory lane seeking guidance.  My wanderings for today ended as I resonated with a passage brought to life by Ray Bradbury:  “I don’t need an alarm clock.  My ideas wake me.”

Traveling through time like this provides a great springboard into my writings.  I stop to acknowledge, though, that the real work and ultimate value and meaning comes from my daily adventures – movements in and around my physical world, exchanges and encounters with friends, associates, and strangers, solitary quiet moments and personal challenges I must confront and tackle.

Once again this week, a note from a friend moved me in a curious and reflective direction…

MM – 8.26.13mosquitoes_attack
“The mosquitoes here are horrendous and huge and mean-mean.  I can barely garden.  Yesterday I had 2 sets of clothing, herbal bug repellent  fan blowing in garden, incense sticks and still I ended up with about 17 bites (I count now).  It seems strange to be so annoyed and fearful of something so small.”

The intensity projected in my friend’s note – along with my own personal experience – brings one face-to-face with the interplay between involved commitment and foreseeable growth – be it within a garden or within oneself.  In each case, a seed (or idea) starts the process.  Once placed in the soil (or embedded in one’s thoughts), one cannot ignore necessary and essential next steps.  Germination and positive, healthy growth can only be achieved when one is willing to engage and remain committed and involved in the process – no matter how grueling.  Once the seed (or idea) bonds with the soil (or becomes one with the human spirit) ignoring or turning back is made much more difficult – as a future potential outcome engages and carries one forward.

Ensuring the seed (or idea) grows and remains healthy are not without challenges.  Only the individual can determine for themselves whether investment in the process and meeting the challenges – despite insurmountable sacrifices – is doable and worthwhile.  Preparation and a willingness to invest and sacrifice are critical to accomplish their own personal (and professional) goal.  For my friend, a few carrots and zucchinis are worth the challenges she must confront, endure, and work through.  When one considers what’s at risk – in her case loss of a delicious meal – it becomes easier for one to comprehend how being “so annoyed and fearful of something so small” might intrude.

This way of thinking brings into question whether that “something” is actually “so small”?  Or one might ponder whether that small thing might just have much more power and influence over us than we realize or are willing to admit?

This manipulating ideology or way of thinking can be debilitating – particularly in life – and can adversely impact or impede progress in daily existence – even in our lives.  The ability to dispel obstacles and keep moving forward toward our true goal might be restricted (or inhibited).

So, in the end…all of this makes me wonder…if my friend was able to sit down to a delicious meal – by tackling those “mean-mean” mosquitoes – and was able to find her way to become powerful despite being “annoyed and fearful” of what appeared to be “small things,” is it possible for each of us to keep moving forward focused on growth in the personal garden we call self?

© 2013 EMCarlock
The Write Resources, LLC™ – www.the-write-resources.com

Graphic credits:  nextgenerationpestcontrol.com

Leave a Reply

